Photo of wooden judge's gavel in the library, focus on the gavel

Liberty Bell Award

Given in recognition of outstanding service performed by a citizen who has given their time and energy to strengthen the effectiveness of the American system of freedom under law, in keeping with the spirit of our Constitution

Please direct any inquiries or nominations to Darlene Trudell at

Past recipients:

  • Linda Little, Neighborhood Service Organization – 2023
  • Craig Buchholz, General Motors – 2022
  • Benny Napoleon, Wayne County Sheriff -2021
  • Not given – 2020
  • James Craig, Detroit Police Chief – 2019
  • Not given – 2018
  • Andrew Arena, Detroit Crime Commission – 2017
  • David Britten, Communication & Media Arts High School – 2016