Photo of wooden judge's gavel in the library, focus on the gavel

Frank Murphy Award

Given in recognition of leadership and service, exemplifying the highest professional ideals and demonstrate outstanding service to the legal profession

Please direct any inquiries or nominations to Darlene Trudell at

Past recipients:

  • Robyn McCoy, Black Women Lawyers Association  – 2023
  • Amy Roemer, William Booth Legal Aid Clinic – 2022
  • Valerie Newman – Wayne County Prosecutor’s Office – 2021
  • John Sier, Kitch  – 2020
  • Al Ackerman, Ackerman Ackerman & Dynkowski – 2019
  • Hon. Patricia Perez Fresard, Third Circuit Court – 2018